not a book

Mid Year Freak Out Book Tag

Found this one over at Maxxesbooktopia.

1. Best book series you’ve read so far in 2017?

I loved the Collegia Magica books by Carol Berg. It’s been a while since I was so enthralled in a world and loved the characters so much. Besides, I also really enjoyed KJ Charles Spectred Isle and will check out more of her.

2. Best sequel of 2017 so far?

If you ask for ‘Sequel that has been published in 2017’ I can’t answer because I haven’t read any. Though K.M. McKinley’s The City of Ice was published on December 27th, 2016 so I guess it almost counts and I enjoyed it and intend to read the next book so that qualifies. If you just ask for sequel I have read in 2017 then I have to point to the above question and say The Demon Prism, third Collegia Magica book.

3. New releases you haven’t read but want to?

That are already out? None to be honest. Unless you count approximately 1325 series I started reading and want to continue eventually.

4. Most anticipated release of the remainder of 2017?

That’s easy:

Ben Aaronovich – The Furthest Station because it’s another Peter Grant novel AND WHY DO I STILL HAVE TO WAIT SO LONG?

As well as Curtis Craddock – An Alchemy of Masques and Mirrors because it sounds like The Three Musketeers In Space and I can never pass anything Musketeer-related.

5. Biggest disappointment?

Leigh Bardugo’s Crooked Kingdom. I liked Six of Crows despite some of its faults and had hoped the sequel would improve but it didn’t.

6. Biggest surprise?

Stefan Lehnberg’s Durch Nacht und Wind. Goethe and Schiller solve a crime in a well written Holmes-style story. The dialogue is hilarious and it’s full of allusions to their works.

7. Favourite New Author (Debut or new to you)?

You might have noticed that I started binging on Carol Berg and have no intention of stopping anytime soon.

8. Newest fictional Crush?

I don’t really crush on fictional characters. I wouldn’t mind having a cup of tea and nice chat with any of the Collegia Magica characters (especially Anne or Portier) or Katriona from City of Ice.

9. Newest Favourite Character?

Over the course of Spectred Isle I grew very fond of Saul. And I’m not only saying this because I don’t want to mention Collegia Magica again. Though I loved Portier. And Illario.

10. Book that made you cry?

I didn’t cry but I sniffed a bit at the end of The Demon Prism.

11. Book that made you happy?

Shira Glassman’s Knit One Girl Two and Spectred Isle. Both were cute, funny and had lovely characters.

12. Favourite book to movie adaption?

I guess strictly speaking Lawrence of Arabia is an adaption? Because apart from that I only watched a really shitty French adaption of The King’s General and The Sign of the Musketeers which only had Musketeers in its title and very little to do with the book.

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year?

Spectred Isle was fun to write.

14. Most beautiful book you bought or received this year?

I assume we’re talking about the cover here since I already talked about best book? I found this very adorable:

34732711

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

None 😉 But I should reduce my tbr-pile (especially the physical books one),

 

Leave a Reply

